Telluride is located in San Miguel County in the southwestern portion of the state of Colorado. Telluride is the San Miguel County seat. The town of Telluride is a home rule municipality with a mayor and six elected council members. The neighboring resort town of Mountain Village was incorporated in 1995 and has its own board and departments. Browse the sections below for more detailed information about the governing bodies of the Town of Telluride, the Town of Mountain Village, San Miguel County, and the Telluride Tourism Board.